India won the match by 7 wickets

Both the teams, India and Pakistan went into this game with similar records. They had beaten Malaysia, Thailand and Sri Lanka but lost to Bangladesh. This match was obviously an interesting one as a win in this game could take the winner to the finals.
When these two teams play, it is more about pride, Pakistan first up won the toss and elected to bat first. The Indians started off pretty well, as Shikha Pandey struck on the third ball of the very first over. The stumps went flying as Nain Abidi walked back to the pavilion for a duck.

Pakistan was looking to slowly recover from the early blow but then skipper Bismah Maroof gave away her wicket to offie Anuja Patil for 4. In 5 overs, the Pakistani side was struggling at 22/3. Ekta Bisht took the third wicket. Nahida Khan was slowly settling in, she was on 18 but then Deepti Sharma got the wicket in the very first over.

Source: google

Pakistan was really reeling at 35/4. The wickets kept tumbling at regular intervals. Ekta Bisht picked up two more wickets, while Poonam Yadav struck once. At the end of 20 overs, Pakistan could only manage 72/7 in their 20 overs.

The Indian innings began. Former skipper Mithali Raj and stylish southpaw Smriti Mandhana opened the batting. The score looked pretty much chase-able but Anam Amin had other plans. She removed both Mithali Raj and Deepti Sharma for a duck. Mithali departed in the first over whereas Deepti was sent back on the second ball of the third over.
India were now 5/2 and needed a solid partnership to score another 68  runs with 8 wickets in hand. Skipper Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana looked comfortable, slowly and steadily they were taking the game away from the women in green. India reached 50 in 14 overs time, both the batswoman playing on 25*.
After 51 balls, Smriti drove one down to the covers for a four on a Sana Mir delivery. India had just one hiccup on the way when they lost the left-hander for 38. This wicket did little damage as the women in blue needed just 3 runs to win.

India cruised towards victory, captain Kaur’s boundary of Diana Baig sealed it for her team in the 17th over itself.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here